top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Potvin

My Lazy Makeup Routine

July 29th, 2020


Growing up I was always very interested in makeup. I used to love sitting in the bathroom as a little girl, watching my Mom get ready for work. The idea of makeup was just so fun to me! When it comes to makeup I don't believe that there is a right and a wrong! And I love seeing peoples different takes on what beauty looks like through their eyes! Makeup to me, is about enhancing your natural beauty, not covering it up!Throughout high school I kept my makeup very clean. I took time in the mornings to carefully apply each product, and I genuinely took pride in the outcome. But since starting university last Fall, I can honestly say, I value my time in the morning alot more now! With late nights and busy days, I like to keep my routine simple. So for todays post I thought I would share my lazy girl makeup routine!

I am a firm believer in that the key to having your makeup look its best, is having a good base! Before I ever apply any makeup I always wash my face, moisturize, and apply my SPF! I wear sunscreen on my face every day, even in the Winter. (This is something that I learned from my Mom!)

My all time favourite base product is the Rodan + Fields Radiant Defence. The Radiant Defence is a product that I never change up, it can double as both a foundation and a concealer. It starts off as a light coverage product, but it's super buildable! I apply this product throughout my T zone, covering up any redness, under my eyes, and on any blemishes that I might have.

Next, I apply my blush. My favourite is the MILANI Romantic Rose blush. It gives a natural flush and looks great on all skin tones! I typically stick to rose toned blushes as I have fair skin and feel that that suits me best. I usually apply my blush higher up on my cheeks and bring it across the bridge of my nose just because I think it looks prettier and more natural.

Highlighter is something that I tend to switch up. I lean more toward the peachy and cream tones. I don't have a specific highlighter that I love, but I am enjoying the one that I am currently using! It gives a very natural shimmer and is perfect for this girl on the go!

To finish up my face makeup I powder my T zone to make sure that nothing moves on me throughout the day! Powder is another product that I tend to switch up. My favourite, which I am currently using, is the RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte powder!

Next up is brows! My holy grail brow product is the Foolproof Brow Powder by Benefit! I like to do my brows by filling in the sparser areas with a little bit of powder, and then building on that if needed. I have very dark hair and fair skin, so I like to keep my brows pretty natural so that they aren't too intense. I usually set my brows with a clear gel!

Mascara is not a product that I am super picky about! As long as it is waterproof and not clumpy I am a happy camper! My current mascara is the Stila HUGE Extreme Lash Mascara and I am loving it!

To complete the look I always reach for my MAC lipsticks! Usually I stick to my favourite nude, Velvet Teddy, or Russian Red! Either way I apply my lipsticks starting in the centre of my lips and then blend them out with my finger for a softer daytime look!


I hope you enjoyed this little post on my super simple makeup routine! As always, the products I used are linked! Thank you so much for reading! Have a lovely day!

xoxo, Chelsea

46 views0 comments
bottom of page