top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Potvin

How to Keep Motivated While Working From Home

August 19th, 2020



With the Fall semester already here, I've come to terms with the fact that this school year will be looking different than others. It's been a big adjustment for many, myself included. Despite my university reopening, I made the difficult decision to switch to being an online student. This decision was not easy, and like many I was sad that I would not be returning to campus for my second year. But when I truly thought it all through, there are just as many amazing things that could come out of learning from home as well!

If you would have asked me a year ago; "Would you consider doing school online?" I'd have flat out told you no. I never thought that I would be capable of being completely in charge of my learning. The thought just seemed so daunting! Not because I'm not a motivated student, but because I had never fully experienced what it was like. Back in March, when Covid-19 caused so many of us to abruptly begin working and learning from home, it became clear to me that learning online was not a scary as I had made it out to be! So I thought that with the new semester approaching I might share some tips on how I keep motivated while working from home!


Establish a Routine

My number one strategy for keeping motivated is establishing a routine. For me this means waking up by 7am every week day, getting ready, eating breakfast, and then going for a walk or doing something I enjoy before I begin working at 9am. Getting ready and establishing a routine for myself helps me to focus better and ultimately provides me with a clear mind for a more productive day.


Create a Work Space

If you're like me, you don't have a set home office or desk. But it's important to establish a work space. It could be anywhere! Maybe your kitchen or dining room table, even your patio! Just keep in mind when selecting your work space that it's a place you will not become easily distracted. You want this space to be comfortable and productive!


Take Breaks

I can't stress enough how important it is to take breaks! Sometimes it can be hard to stop when you get in the groove of things, but taking a break is a good reminder to breathe. Your break doesn't have to be long, you can simply stand up and stretch, or grab a quick snack to refuel, before getting back to business! And if you're not in the groove, then your break can serve as a little something to look forward too!


Keep Organized

When working independently it's crucial to stay organized. You are your own accountability partner. That being said, my most used purchase every year is my planner. Unfortunately, this year it hasn't been filled with travel days and coffee dates, but it's still proven to be of good use! Having a planner is a great way to stay on track, you can write down all of your tasks for the day, as well as any up coming due dates.


Take Care & Reward Yourself

As important as it is to set goals and meet dead lines throughout the week, it can be mentally exhausting. Give yourself something to look forward to! Throughout the week I like to keep these things simple, maybe it's reading a book, or doing a face mask. I even plan bigger "rewards" for the end of the week. By rewarding yourself, you're creating incentive. You're creating something to look forward to throughout the week, and it can incise you to keep working... even when you don't feel like it.


I know these aren't for everybody, but I hope that you find these tips helpful! Let me know how you are keeping motivated during these times, I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day, and happy working!

xoxo, Chelsea

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page